How does Recuva work?

When you delete a file from the Recycle Bin, Windows marks these files as DELETED, but (and this is the useful bit) it doesn't actually delete the data, the file is just marked as DELETED.  This means that the data is still present on the drive and so using a few of our own tricks, we can restore this file to its original state.

But, the bad news is that Windows will eventually reuse this space and also overwrite the pointer to the file, so the quicker you stop using your computer and run Recuva, the better your chances of recovering your files.