Why is the Thumbnails category unticked by default?

Thumbnails are the small versions of pictures used for previews. Deleting thumbnails during a Clean can release significant amounts of data on some devices while on others the effect is very limited. For this reason, this category is unticked by default. You can test the effectiveness of this option on your device and decide whether to check it or not.